About Us


Data Committee Members

Stephen Blanchard
PhD, Professor of Sociology, Our Lady of the Lake University
Data Committee Chair

Robert Ferrer, MD
University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio –
Department of Family and Community Medicine
Board Chair

Pilar Oates
The Health Collaborative
Community Board Member

Charlene Doria-Ortiz
Bexar County Department of Community Resources

George Thomas, MBA
Methodist Healthcare System

Palmira Arellano
Methodist Healthcare System

Charles L. Kight, MBA

The Health Collaborative
Community Board Member

Andrea Guajardo, MPH

Thomas Schlenker, MD
The Health Collaborative
Community Board Member

Anil T. Mangla, PhD
San Antonio Metropolitan Health District

Theresa De La Haya
University Health Systems

Community Advisory Committee

Laura C. McKieran, DrPH
UT Health School of Public Health, San Antonio Regional Campus

LeRoy Cavazos, MPA
San Antonio Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

Melissa A. Valerio, PhD
UTHealth School of Public Health, San Antonio Regional Campus

Carol Huber, MBA
University Health Systems

Research Partner

The Health Collaborative began informally in 1997 when San Antonio’s major healthcare organizations agreed to put aside their competitive business practices to conduct a comprehensive health needs assessment. The evolution in 2000 to an incorporated entity with a long-range strategic plan was in response to the founding members’ interest in improving the health status of the community by working together.

The Health Collaborative has developed into a powerful network of citizens, community organizations and businesses. The result is a more robust, less duplicative, more synergistic approach to solving critical community health needs, while efficiently utilizing resources.

For more information about The Health Collaborative, its programs and initiatives, please contact:

Elizabeth Lutz, Executive Director
The Health Collaborative, 1002 N. Flores St, San Antonio, Texas 78212 
(210) 481-2573 | elizabeth.lutz@healthcollaborative.net